I’m 30. If you cut that in half I’m 15 and I’m reading loads of ghost stories and riding my bike everywhere in a little town. I’m running track and I’ve never kissed a boy. Five years later I’m in college and I’m kind of a slut and I’m depressed and I go to bars and I sit on the porch and play chess with my friend while smoking cigarette after cigarette. Five years later I’m in Korea and teaching, and I get really lonely and I go for runs past the factories and to the water that connects to China and is slightly yellow and smells like rotting fish.  Five years later here I am, in school again, and I’m alone again, and I’m smoking again and I’m wondering what is next.

Leave a Reply

